My Two Sense

Stop Singing and Start Believing!

Singing songs to Jesus is my favorite type of worship. In that moment, Jesus and I are really connecting. I am praising Him for everything that He has done and everything that He continues to do. I usually cry, because I’m a serious crier with everything from a romantic novel to the ending of my favorite TV series. I become very emotional during worship. That is where I connect the most with God. BUT sometimes I feel like I’m going through the motions. Singing the lyrics to worship songs I’ve heard thousands of times. Am I really believing in what I’m singing?

Have you ever really listened to the words you’re singing in a worship song?

I recently looked up the lyrics to my favorite songs and was very taken aback by how powerful the words I was singing really were.

For example, In God We Trust by Hillsong Worship is a song I’ve always really liked every since I heard it. YouTube Link We have sang this song in services a lot in the past few months. I really love it. When I started to read the lyrics without any music I found some lines I couldn’t get out of my head:

“Now in God we trust
In His Name we hope
I know God will not be shaken
God is here with us
He’s already won
I know God will not be shaken”

In God I will trust. In His name I will hope in. I know that God will not be shaken. God is here with me. He’s already won. I know God will not be shaken.

That will definitely bring out the water works in a powerful worship experience. But in the car on the way to work, in my headphones when I’m working out, that is STILL so powerful. I want to believe those words. I want to fully trust God in every single situation. This means that I can’t only trust Him with school and work but I won’t trust Him with the relationships in my life. NOPE. In everything I will trust in God. Every.Single.Thing.

Another one of my favorites is called Unstoppable God by Elevation Worship. YouTube Link The first time I ever heard this song was at Chapel on a Monday morning last school year. Some lyrics that really struck me were the following:

“Nothing shall be impossible
Your kingdom reigns unstoppable
We’ll shout Your praise forevermore
Jesus our God unstoppable”

I remember how the whole auditorium sang these four lines over and over and over. It was a powerful moment. But do I really believe it? Because it sounds powerful and pretty and something I should believe in. “Nothing shall be impossible.” Thats hard to believe sometimes. It’s hard to believe that in just one name, Jesus, anything that may seem impossible will be possible. I want to fully believe in that so badly. Don’t you?

I want to stop singing. I want to start believing. I want to sit in the quiet, turn on these songs, and really believe that my God is UNSTOPPABLE! I want to believe that I can TRUST in my God with anything at anytime in any situation that is brought my way. I feel in my heart that you sincerely want that too.

One of my favorite Christian authors is Annie F. Downs and she wrote a blog post called “Stop Singing Oceans.” If you want to read the entire article here is a link, it’s pretty great: Stop Singing Oceans

Even seeing that title I was very interested in what she had to say about the popular worship song Oceans by Hillsong United. There was a line that she wrote that I will never forget and I want to share with you…

“If you will really read the lyrics, if you will know what you are singing when you sing, and if you will listen to the Holy Spirit and follow when He leads you deeper and farther, then buckle up and sing your heart out, because it’s going to be a beautifully messy ride.”

I want to believe in what I’m singing and I want you to believe in it as well. I want you to be able to raise your hands and sing “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders” and really mean it. It’s an every day struggle for me. But every day I come closer to that goal of full trust and full belief. I want to believe in my unstoppable God, I want to completely trust God, and if the Holy Spirit really does lead me somewhere that makes me uncomfortable I want it to lead me deeper than my feet could ever wonder.

My desire is to stop singing and to start believing!!

 

1 thought on “Stop Singing and Start Believing!”

  1. LOVE💕 I agree 200% and ugh it’s such a struggle to remind yourself to really believe the words you are singing. Sometimes I just get lost in routine and it’s super difficult when you’re a musician and you start picking apart the music and judging it rather than embracing the worship and running to God with your heart open wide.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

